

The Asian Indian Classical Music Society 52318 N Tally Ho Drive, South Bend, IN 46635

March 28, 2013

Dear Friends,

I am writing to inform you about our concerts for Spring 2013:

Vishwa Mohan Bhatt (Mohan Veena or Guitar) with Subhen Chatterjee (Tabla) April 10th, 2013, Wedneday,7.00 PM, at the Hesburgh Center Auditorium Pandit Vishwa Mohan Bhatt is among the leading Indian classical instrumental musicians. He is the creator of the Mohan Veena, which has modified the Hawaiian slide guitar by adding fourteen additional strings to it, and allows him to exquisitely assimilate the techniques of the sitar, sarod and veena. He is one of the foremost disciples of Pandit Ravi Shankar. He has captivated audiences at numerous concerts in the US, Canada, Europe, the Middle East and, of course, India. Among numerous other awards, he is the recipient of the Grammy Award, 1994, with Ry Cooder, for the World Music album, *A Meeting by the River*.

Shanmukha Priya and Hari Priya (Vocal) with M.A. Krishnaswamy (Violin) and Skandasubramanian (Mridangam), April 26th, 2013, Friday, 7.00PM, place: TBA Shanmukha Priya and Hari Priya, the renowned musical duo popularly known as the "Priya Sisters", are among the leading exponents of the Carnatic or South Indian vocal music. After receiving their training from the renowned duo, Radha and Jayalakshmi, they are now under the guidance of Prof. T. R.Subramaniam. Since they began performing in 1989, the Priya Sisters have performed worldwide in more than two thousand concerts. Among other awards, the sisters have been the recipients of the 'Best Female Vocalists' awards from Music Academy, Sri Krishna Gana Sabha and the Indian Fine Arts Society, Chennai.

Tickets available at gate. General Admission: \$10, AICMS Members and ND/SMC faculty: \$5, Students: FREE

I would also like to inform you that we had our annual general-body meeting on February 24, 2013. The new members of the Executive Committee were also elected at the meeting. They are: Samir Bose (President), Vidula Agtey (Vice President), Amitava Dutt (Secretary), Ganesh Vaidyanthan (Treasurer) and Umesh Garg (Member-at-Large and Program Coordinator). Subsequently, Prashant Kamat and Runa Mozumder were added as co-opted members of the Committee.

Sincerely yours

Amitava Krishna Dutt, Secretary, AICMS

For further information, contact: Amitava Dutt (2730928) or Umesh Garg (2722957)